Saturday, March 5, 2011

Birth Two: Accidentally Natural

So the second time around I scheduled the week before I was due off of work, mostly so i wouldn't be tempted to go to the hospital prematurely just to get out of work. This time I went with a 'midwife' (CNM). She was good and I liked her, but I honestly waited longer for her appointments than the ones with a doctor. (Honestly as longs as two and half hours one time). She didn't seem quite so paranoid and make me take every test and precaution possible, which was nice. Due to the fact that I had already had one healthy delivery, that makes sense, though. I had 90% made up my mind not to get an epidural and really wanted to try it naturally. Didn't want to use Pitocin, either.

The night before the due date we were hiking around at about 8:30 pm and i was feeling my stomach flex every five minutes, not painful, though. Because we were going to have to leave Cowboy with a neighbor, we thought it would be more polite to drop him off then, than at 3 in the morning. So we went ahead and dropped him off at our friends and then took our time and headed over to the hospital, checking in around 10:30 p.m. I was told I was dilated to a 7! Within a half hour my midwife said I was a 9 and then broke my water. Then it started to hurt - a TON, plus she told me that I was actually only a 7, she could tell better after she broke the water. Well with that 2cm of wind leaving my sail, and being in more pain than I had ever been in my life i asked for an epidural. A nurse had me stand up and then baby came down and, did I mention contractions REALLY HURT - they forced me back on the table (Ouch! that hurt the lower back a LOT) and I pushed once - Hubby is silently freaking out because he can see our daughter's head and there is not a nurse or doctor in the room. The nurse had ran out to grab another doctor - my midwife had run over to the other hospital to deliver another baby. A doctor I had never met runs in, puts on gloves, I push a second time and he catches my daughter, then plops her straight onto my lap (I love that!). I get to hold her and nurse her and love her and it was awesome (and such a relief to be done!) By now it was midnight - yes, an hour and a half after we checked in 'early', or so I thought. Oh, and the epidural doctor had come in to give me the epidural right about the time Lady was crowning, so he said "uh, never mind" and walked back out.

(Just look at that fat belly! She was a full two pounds heavier than her 'big' brother,
weighing in at 9 pounds 4 ounces).
I am so glad Lady came quick and I was able to 'accidentally' experience a natural birth. I was up and walking 10 minutes later. Recovery was a whole lot easier. I was only in serious (and I mean SERIOUS) pain for about 45 minutes of the labor, but I remember thinking only about an hour after she was born, "Yeah, I could maybe do that again (but give me a couple years)." I was honestly going to go to the last hour of church a day and a half after she was born, but couldn't get checked out of the hospital in time.

Lady nursed like a pro right away, was a very content, peaceful baby. Cowboy 'wasn't gaining enough weight' the first week of his life and took a couple days to really nurse. Lady was sleeping through the night in less than a month. Cowboy only took 2 months. I know, where did I get these perfect children, right? So they were both very happy, content babies - the delivery itself affected maybe the first week of their life. But who knows, Cowboy definitely had a lot more sleeping problems than Lady and 'separation' problems even until now, three years later.

What i would change...and will with the next birth: Do not labor while lying on my back, possibly not get my water broken, plan for a natural birth...at home

No comments:

Post a Comment